Quick answer
For someone spending $200 abroad, using one out-of-network ATM and making one cash deposit a month, Capital One 360 Checking costs nothing on the fees it publishes. Ally costs $2 from its foreign transaction fee of up to 1%. Current comes to $12 from published fees, and its page does not state a monthly fee. Chime, Varo, SoFi and One could not be read.
Key points
- Capital One 360 Checking lists no monthly, foreign transaction or own out-of-network ATM fees.
- Ally charges up to 1% on international transactions and refunds up to $10 a cycle in other banks' ATM fees.
- Current charges 3% abroad, $2.50 at out-of-network ATMs and $3.50 per retail cash deposit.
- Capital One and Ally are banks; Current is a fintech whose deposits sit with partner banks.
- Every account in this list ranks with at least one fee missing from its page, noted on each entry.
- Chime, Varo, SoFi and One refused automated reads and are not yet included.
What you would pay
Set your own numbers. The list below is ranked with this same calculator at our reference profile: $200 of card spending abroad, one out-of-network ATM withdrawal and one cash deposit a month.
- Capital One 360 Checking 360 Checking$0.00Cash deposit fee not published on the page read
- Ally Spending Account Spending$2.00Own ATM fee not published on the page read
- Current Current$12.00Monthly fee not stated on the page read
Regular published prices only. Introductory offers and tax are left out. Figures are arithmetic on the provider’s own numbers, not a recommendation.
The list, in order
Order follows the published method on How we rank. Providers cannot pay for a position.
Capital One 360 Checking
An online checking account from a bank, with no monthly fees, no foreign transaction fees and no Capital One fee at out-of-network ATMs.
Suits: people who want app banking from a bank rather than a fintech. Watch for: other ATM owners may still charge, and the page states no fee for adding cash in store.
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Foreign transactions
- No fee
- Fee-free ATMs
- 70,000+
- Overdraft fees
- None
Ally Spending Account
A bank checking account with no monthly fee, no overdraft fees, free cash deposits at Walmart and refunds of up to $10 a cycle in other banks' ATM fees.
Suits: people who use other banks' ATMs now and then. Watch for: international transactions cost up to 1%.
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Foreign transactions
- Up to 1%
- ATM refunds
- Up to $10/cycle
- Cash deposits
- Free at Walmart
Current
A fintech account with paycheck up to two days early, fee-free overdraft for eligible direct deposits and a savings boost on small balances.
Suits: people paid by direct deposit who want early access to pay. Watch for: 3% foreign transaction fee, $2.50 out-of-network ATM fee and $3.50 per retail cash deposit.
- Monthly fee
- Not stated on page
- Foreign transactions
- 3% (min $0.50)
- Out-of-network ATM
- $2.50
- Cash deposit
- $3.50
Figures read from each provider’s own page on 29 October 2026. Reference profile: $200 of card spending abroad, one out-of-network ATM withdrawal and one cash deposit a month. Unranked entries publish no price that fits it.
- Chime, Varo, SoFi and One — their pages refused automated reads on 29 Oct 2026. To be confirmed by hand.
Mobile banking apps compete on having no monthly fee, so the cost of using one comes from occasional charges: spending abroad, using another bank's ATM, or paying in cash. This list compares those charges and names who holds the money.
How the ranking works
We ranked accounts by monthly cost for someone who spends $200 abroad, makes one out-of-network ATM withdrawal and one retail cash deposit a month, using fees read from each provider's page on 29 October 2026. Each account here is missing one fee from its page, so each carries a note, and the order is by the fees that are published. See how we rank.
| Account | Monthly fee | Abroad | Other ATMs | Cash deposit | Month at our profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One 360 Checking | $0 | None | No Capital One fee | Fee not stated | $0 |
| Ally Spending | $0 | Up to 1% | Not stated (refunds up to $10) | Free at Walmart | $2.00 |
| Current | Not stated | 3%, min $0.50 | $2.50 | $3.50 | $12.00 |
Bank or fintech
Capital One 360 Checking is offered by Capital One, N.A., and Ally by Ally Bank. Both are FDIC-insured banks. Current's page says Current "is a financial technology company, not an FDIC-insured bank" and that banking services are provided by Choice Financial Group and/or Cross River Bank. Our guide, is a neobank a bank?, explains what that changes.
Fees in use
- Abroad. Capital One lists no foreign transaction fees. Ally charges up to 1%. Current charges 3% with a $0.50 minimum.
- ATMs. Capital One has 70,000+ fee-free ATMs and charges nothing of its own elsewhere. Ally refunds up to $10 a statement cycle in other banks' fees. Current charges $2.50 out of network.
- Cash. Ally takes cash free at Walmart; Current charges $3.50; Capital One's in-store cash deposits list limits but no fee.
Savings in the same app
Ally's Spending Account itself pays 0.10% to 0.25% APY. Current advertises up to 4.00% on small balances under conditions dated 2023 on its page. Our high-yield savings comparison covers savings accounts.
Not yet included
Chime, Varo, SoFi and One refused automated reads on 29 October 2026. The UK comparison covers pounds, and the everyday account fee calculator works it out in dollars.
Keep reading
Best mobile banking apps in the UK (2026): fees compared
Four app-based UK current accounts compared on fees abroad, cash deposits and paid plans. All four are UK banks with FSCS protection.
Guide · US & UKIs a neobank a bank? Charters, partner banks and e-money explained
Some banking apps are banks; others are technology firms using a partner bank or an e-money licence. Here is what each model means for your money.
Calculator · US editionEveryday account fee calculator
The same calculator on its own page, in dollars.
Questions
Which US banking app has no fees?
Capital One 360 Checking lists no monthly fee, no overdraft fees, no foreign transaction fees and no Capital One charge at out-of-network ATMs, though the ATM owner may charge. Ally’s Spending Account also has no monthly fee but charges up to 1% on international transactions. Both were read on 29 October 2026.
Is a fintech banking app the same as a bank?
No. Current says it is a financial technology company, not an FDIC-insured bank, and that banking services are provided by Choice Financial Group and Cross River Bank. Capital One and Ally are banks themselves. Our guide on whether a neobank is a bank explains what that means for your money.
Can I deposit cash into a mobile banking app?
Usually at retailers. Ally says you can add cash for free at Walmart. Capital One lets you add cash at stores including CVS and Walgreens, with limits of $999 a transaction, but does not state a fee. Current charges $3.50 per retail deposit.
Do these apps pay my wages early?
Current advertises pay up to two days early, and Ally and Capital One both say early direct deposit can give access up to two days sooner. It depends on when your employer sends the payment, and each provider says timing is not guaranteed.
What about overdrafts?
Ally says it never charges overdraft fees and offers CoverDraft of up to $100, or $250 with qualifying direct deposits. Capital One says it charges no overdraft fees. Current offers fee-free overdraft that depends on at least $200 of eligible direct deposits in 35 days, with negatives repaid within 60 days.